Police Department Badge


Department Location and Mailing

201 1st Street
P.O. Box 1098
Ault, Colorado 80610

Contact Information

Phone – (970) 834-1336
Fax – (970) 834-2199

Dispatch – (970) 356-1212
Emergency – Dial 911

Resident Services

Resident Services

The Ault Police Department provides the following services to the citizens of Ault and Pierce. Please note that fees may apply for these services. Any fee payments must be cash, check or credit/debit card.

VIN Verifications

VIN verifications are completed by the patrol division. A fee of $20.00 must be paid at the Ault Police Department PRIOR to an Officer completing the verification. Please make sure you have the current title or registration for the vehicle AND the VIN number is clearly visible.

What is a VIN verification?

In addition to the title or registration, the state requires a verification of the serial number on the vehicle, to match the number on the title or registration. This inspection can be made by a Colorado licensed dealer, a Colorado licensed inspection station or a Colorado law enforcement officer. The inspection is annotated on form DR 2698- Verification of Vehicle Identification. This form is also available at all motor vehicle locations and emission stations.

A VIN verification is required before registering a vehicle in the State of Colorado when the vehicle

     – has an out-of-state title,
     – was purchased outside of Colorado
     – was transferred on a Purged Bill of Sale, or
     – requires a correction to the description on the title.

Certified VIN Inspections

Certified VIN Inspections are offered by appointment only. As of August 2, 2021, the fee for a certified VIN inspection is $50, with $25 being a non-refundable deposit due at the time of booking. Your appointment will not be held without payment being submitted via our checkout immediately after scheduling. You must arrive within 15 minutes of your appointment time, or you will lose your appointment as well as the $25 deposit.

To schedule an appointment, please use the link below to view our scheduling portal. If there are no dates available, there are no appointments available. You must continue to check back with the site, staff will not be able to provide any additional dates or times apart from those listed on the scheduling site.


Breath Alcohol Testing

Breath alcohol testing can be completed at the Ault Police Department during normal business hours. A fee of $5.00 must be paid at the time of the breath alcohol test. Please bring any paperwork you need completed at the time of the test. Paperwork will not be completed at a later time due to not having it with you.


Fingerprinting services are no longer provided.

The State of Colorado has developed the Colorado Applicant Background Services (CABS) program for fingerprinting within the state of Colorado. Further information on the CABS program can be obtained by clicking on the link below. 

Colorado CABS Program